T20I World Cup : History and Stats

A T20 cricket brings up a lot of enthusiasm and recreation across the world. And if it is about the T20I World Cup, it captivates and adds another dimension to it. Since the inaugural edition, there have been blockbuster matches, and more than that we have seen many staggering records. In this blog, let’s revisit some of those fascinating stats from all the T20I world cups.

T20I World Cup: Team Records

Till now there have been 7 ICC Men’s T20I World Cup. Here are the winners of each of those – 

2007 – India 

2009 – Pakistan 

2010 – England 

2012 – West Indies

2014 – Sri Lanka

2016 – West Indies

  • West Indies has won the tournament twice which is the most by any team. 
  • Sri Lanka is the only team to reach the finals on 3 occasions. (Winners in 2014 and runners up in 2009 and 2012)
  • In fact, Sri Lanka has the highest win percentage of 68.4 (won 26 out of 38) followed by India. 
  • Highest Score by team: Sri Lanka scored 260 runs with the loss of 6 wickets against Kenya in 2007.
  • Lowest Score by team: the Netherlands scored 39 runs against Sri Lanka in 2014.
  • In the ongoing T20I world Cup: Bangladesh will face England for the first time ever in the history of T20 Internationals.

Outstanding Stats 

Most Runs:  Sri Lankan Superstar, Mahela Jayawardene tops this list with 1016 runs in 31 innings.

Most fifty+ ScoreVirat Kohli, the run machine has scored 10 fifty+ scores in just 17 innings.

Most Century:  As Expected, Christopher Henry Gayle leads this chart.

Highest score by player:  Brendon McCullum (123 runs vs Bangladesh in 2012)

Most Sixes:  Universe Boss, Chris Gayle has hit 60 maximums which is the most by any batter.

Most fours:  Mahela Jayawardene (111 fours)

Most Wickets:  Allrounder, Shakib Al Hasan is the leading wicket-taker ( 41 wickets in 28 innings)

Hat tricks:  There have been 2 hat tricks, one by Ireland’s Curtis Campher against Netherland in the ongoing tournament and Australia’s Brett Lee against Bangladesh in 2007.

Best Bowling Spell:  Srilankan Star, Ajantha Mendis has the best bowling figure of 4-overs-8 runs-6wickets against Zimbabwe in 2012.

Most Man of the tournament:  Virat Kohli won twice the man of the tournament in 2014 and 2016.

Unenviable Stats 

  • Most ducks:  Shahid Afridi and Tillakaratne Dilshan jointly hold this unwanted record with 5 ducks.
  • Most Expensive Spell: Sanath Jayasuriya with 64 runs in 4 overs against Pakistan in 2007.
  • Australia, Newzealand, South Africa, and Afghanistan are the teams of Super 8 in the ongoing tournament to not win any T20I World Cup till now.

Do you have any such stat to share about #T20WorldCup? Do share in the comments or write us at our Twitter and Instagram handles.

Share this page with other Cricket Fans...!!
, , ,

1 thought on “T20I World Cup : History and Stats

  1. It seems like you’re asking about the T20 World Cup, a major international cricket tournament. The ICC T20 World Cup is a cricket championship organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and is contested by national teams in the Twenty20 format, which is a shorter and more fast-paced version of cricket.

    Key Points about the ICC T20 World Cup:
    Format: The tournament features matches that are 20 overs per side, making it shorter and more dynamic compared to traditional formats.
    Frequency: Initially held every two years, but scheduling has varied. The next tournaments are planned to maintain regular intervals.
    Participants: The tournament includes both full member nations and associate member teams that qualify through regional competitions.
    History: The first T20 World Cup was held in 2007, and it has grown in popularity since then.
    Notable Teams: Traditional cricket powerhouses like India, Australia, England, Pakistan, South Africa, and the West Indies have been strong performers in past tournaments.
    Recent Tournaments:
    2021: Held in UAE and Oman, originally scheduled for India.
    2022: Hosted by Australia.
    2024: Scheduled to be held in the West Indies and the United States.
    Memorable Moments:
    2007: India won the inaugural tournament under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.
    2012 and 2016: The West Indies claimed the title, known for their explosive batting and charismatic players.
    2021: Australia won their first T20 World Cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *